The Motion of Puppets

fullsizerender

In the Old City of Québec, Kay Harper falls in love with a puppet in the window of the Quatre Mains, a toy shop that is never open. She is spending her summer working as an acrobat with the cirque while her husband, Theo, is translating a biography of the pioneering photographer Eadweard Muybridge. Late one night, Kay fears someone is following her home. Surprised to see that the lights of the toy shop are on and the door is open, she takes shelter inside.

The next morning Theo wakes up to discover his wife is missing. Under police suspicion and frantic at her disappearance, he obsessively searches the streets of the Old City. Meanwhile, Kay has been transformed into a puppet, and is now a prisoner of the back room of the Quatre Mains, trapped with an odd assemblage of puppets from all over the world who can only come alive between the hours of midnight and dawn. The only way she can return to the human world is if Theo can find her and recognize her in her new form. So begins a dual odyssey: of a husband determined to findhis wife, and of a woman trapped in a magical world where her life is not her own.

The Motion of Puppets by Keith Donohue

Publication Date: October 4, 2016 by Picador

Goodreads


My Thoughts:

Kay’s notions of order were disturbed, so she found a dark corner in which to hide and contemplate and take exception to just who ruled the world.

When I saw that Keith Donohue had a new book coming out, I couldn’t get onto Netgalley fast enough to request the ARC. When I saw the glorious email confirming my request, I immediately began the book that night – everything else took the backseat.

I’ve only read one other book by Donohue, The Boy Who Drew Monsters, and it’s one of the most uniquely creepy and frightening books I’ve ever read. I knew to expect the unexpected in The Motion of Puppets which I think helped me to brace for some of the events that unfold as part of the plot.

What I enjoy most about Donohue’s work is that his books don’t easily fit into one particular genre. The Motion of Puppets has romance, comedy, and horror and each of these areas fits so nicely into the storyline. I was quickly invested in Kay’s future and wanted desperately for Theo to figure her fate out for himself. Without risking spoiling it for those who haven’t read it yet, Donohue isn’t the type of author whose plot is easy to follow or predict, so I definitely felt some heartbreak upon making discoveries along the way when I was holding out hope for certain events to happen.

Although The Boy Who Drew Monsters still holds is place as my favorite Donohue novel, The Motion of Puppets was a fantastic read! Thank you, Netgalley and Picador for giving me the opportunity to read this book before its publication next week!

Leave a Reply

