The Twilight Wife

29562590

From bestselling author A.J. Banner comes a dazzling new novel of psychological suspense in the vein of S.J. Watson’s Before I Go to Sleep and Mary Kubica’s The Good Girl that questions just how much we can trust the people around us.

Thirty-four-year-old marine biologist Kyra Winthrop remembers nothing about the diving accident that left her with a complex form of memory loss. With only brief flashes of the last few years of her life, her world has narrowed to a few close friendships on the island where she lives with her devoted husband, Jacob.

But all is not what it seems. Kyra begins to have visions—or are they memories?—of a rocky marriage, broken promises, and cryptic relationships with the island residents, whom she believes to be her friends.

As Kyra races to uncover her past, the truth becomes a terrifying nightmare. A twisty, immersive thriller, The Twilight Wife will keep readers enthralled through the final, shocking twist.

The Twilight Wife by A.J. Banner

Publication Date: December 27, 2016 by Touchstone

Goodreads


My Thoughts:

Just because someone talks about murder, doesn’t mean they intend to actually kill someone

No, this is not the “next” Gone Girl, nor is the author the “next” Tana French, but despite The Twilight Wife‘s flaws, there is something very enjoyable about this short, fast-paced novel.

This book is easy to finish in one sitting and occasionally, that is exactly the type of psychological thriller that one needs. Although I had my gripes with the plot, I did enjoy the atmospheric qualities in the story: the quaint town, the blustery weather, and all the oceanic elements that connect throughout the storyline. Where it could have felt tedious to others, I enjoyed this descriptive element to the book.

I also was hooked enough into the plot to read through The Twilight Wife within hours of starting it. Banner is talented when it comes to drawing the reader into the uncertainty of the narrator’s sense of reality and who she can really trust – enough so that I didn’t put the book down until I knew how it would all end.

This book was easily on its way to a 4 or 5 star rating until around the last 15-20 pages where it started to plummet a bit. Despite being a quick novel to finish, the story itself was drawn out and left me in a state of perpetual suspense until that last bit where events suddenly speed up to the point where I felt like I had literary whiplash. While frustrating, I find this to be typical of this “type” of psychological thriller so it wouldn’t have been enough to lower my opinions of the book. What I really found disappointing was the ending – I felt like I had stepped out of a thriller and into a cliche Lifetime movie.

Despite feeling a bit betrayed by the ending, I did enjoy the novel enough as a whole to recommend it to others. I just wish more time had been spent on the ending and in a way that didn’t wrap things up so nice and neat.

Thank you, Netgalley and Touchstone for allowing me the opportunity to read The Twilight Wife in exchange for an honest review!

Leave a Reply

