I See You

 

31152010

You do the same thing every day.

You know exactly where you’re going.

You’re not alone.

When Zoe Walker sees her photo in the classifieds section of a London newspaper, she is determined to find out why it’s there. There’s no explanation: just a website, a grainy image and a phone number. She takes it home to her family, who are convinced it’s just someone who looks like Zoe. But the next day the advert shows a photo of a different woman, and another the day after that.

Is it a mistake? A coincidence? Or is someone keeping track of every move they make . . .

I See You is an edge-of-your-seat, page-turning psychological thriller from one of the most exciting and successful British debut talents of 2015.

I See You by Clare Mackintosh

Publication Date: February 21, 2017 by Berkley

Goodreads


My Thoughts:

This book was a lot of fun, but there was a lot about the plot that just didn’t make a whole lot of sense. Combine these two sides and that’s how this book ended up with the noncommittal three star rating.

I See You is a fast-paced psychological thriller that plays off of a lot of the fears that are just inherent to being female. Even when I’m walking down a well lit street by myself at night, I’m on the alert with one of my house keys posed to hit someone’s jugular if they were to attack me. The idea of being followed is something that has clearly made success in the horror film industry and Clare Mackintosh knows how to play that angle well in her newest novel.

When a friend goes on a date for the first time, she alerts someone to the time/place and updates us as to the outcome. If I’m walking alone at night in an area I’m not necessarily familiar with and see a man walking in my direction, I’ll get out my phone as if I’m making a call. The moment I get in my car, I lock the doors, etc etc. It’s not that I’m in a constant state of fear – it’s more that I have a heightened sense of my surroundings. My friends aren’t expecting to be attacked on a first date – they’re just taking precautions upon meeting a stranger. It’s been ingrained in us to be fearful of men – not surprising in our current society.

Mackintosh takes that idea and applies it to an area where women are a little less on alert – their daily commute via public transportation. People are creatures of habit and so we rarely stray from the same routine every day – from the time we leave the house to the route we take to and from work – it’s easy to see how someone could be followed just by learning that basic information. I See You is able to plant that seed from the very beginning and the tension it creates does maintain for most of the novel.

As the story progressed, there were aspects of the plot that just didn’t seem plausible. To avoid spoilers, I won’t discuss this much further, but these details were enough to leave me feeling a little baffled at times. I know this is supposed to be a psychological thriller, but there were definitely parts of the book that didn’t feel well-thought out. It felt like Mackintosh expected her readers to take everything she writes without question and that’s where I got stuck a bit on how to really rate this book.

Despite the many issues in regards to how realistic the plot was, this was still a really fast, fun read. I felt like I was able to accept the sillier aspects of the plot enough to still enjoy the novel, but prefer my psychological thrillers to be a little bit more thought out. This would definitely be a book for those who could get past the disbelief and accept everything Mackintosh throws at you. For those who get hung up on the details in a storyline, you might want to skip this one.

Thanks NetGalley and Berkley for allowing me the chance to discover a new author in return for an honest review!

Leave a Reply

