The Breakdown

31450633

Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw the car in the woods, on the winding rural road, in the middle of a downpour, with the woman sitting inside―the woman who was killed. She’s been trying to put the crime out of her mind; what could she have done, really? It’s a dangerous road to be on in the middle of a storm. Her husband would be furious if he knew she’d broken her promise not to take that shortcut home. And she probably would only have been hurt herself if she’d stopped.

But since then, she’s been forgetting every little thing: where she left the car, if she took her pills, the alarm code, why she ordered a pram when she doesn’t have a baby.

The only thing she can’t forget is that woman, the woman she might have saved, and the terrible nagging guilt.

Or the silent calls she’s receiving, or the feeling that someone’s watching her…

The Breakdown by B.A. Paris

Publication Date: July 18, 2017 by St. Martin’s Press

Goodreads


My Thoughts:

Having seen all the praise heaped on Behind Closed Doors, I decided to go about things backwards and start my B.A. Paris experience with her newest novel, The Breakdown, first.

What a fast-paced and addictive book! I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump for the past month and have found myself wary of starting something new since I’ve been disappointed by a lot of the books I’ve picked up in the last few weeks. Luckily, The Breakdown was exactly what I needed to get my reading mojo back.

While there were several key aspects of the plot I was able to figure out fairly early on, my sleuthing abilities in no way took away from my reading enjoyment. Cass’ fear and anxiety were palpable – enough so that I found myself feeling equally stressed about being home alone while reading. This was not a typical reaction for me, especially considering I live in a third floor apartment in the middle of a big city and could no way fear the same things as Cass initially did in her isolated, country home.

Although it became clear that Cass might not be the most reliable narrator early on in the plot, I still found myself fully connected to her emotional experiences and couldn’t peel my eyes away from my Kindle no matter how late into the night it became. I ended up finishing The Breakdown in one, tense-filled sitting and have zero regrets about the sleep I lost because of this decision.

While a few aspects of the plot were somewhat predictable, I personally didn’t feel that they took away from my enjoyment of the novel. I was much more wrapped up in character development than the events that occurred since the combination of suspense and an unreliable narrator are definitely my favorite combination in a psychological thriller and The Breakdown nails both of these qualities down perfectly.

Leave a Reply

